George D. Graffin was a former employee of the Asbury Graphite Mills, Inc. George was a self-taught sales engineer and had an excellent understanding of carbon and graphite technology. Through his ability to educate and stimulate interest in others, George had a profound positive influence on the graphite industry in North America. It is with George’s inquisitive spirit in mind that Asbury Graphite Mills, Inc. supports his memory through sponsorship of this award.

If your institution is interested in having the current year’s Graffin Lecturer visit your location please contact:

American Carbon Society Secretary of Education:

The Education Secretary

Dr. Weiming Lu (2016)
Senior Fellow
Collins Aerospace, Raytheon Technologies

[email protected]

Previous George D. Graffin Lecturers in Carbon Science and Engineering

The American Carbon Society supported by grants from the Asbury Graphite Mills, Inc., sponsors this lecture series in North American Universities in honor of George D. Graffin, a pioneer in the natural graphite industry. Each year the Society selects a lecturer who has made distinguished contributions to carbon science and engineering. The lecture is available to North American universities, by arrangement with the lecturer.

Winning Graffin Series Lecturers Include:

Matthew C Weisenberger,  University of Kentucky Center For Applied Energy Research (UK CAER)

Ryan M. Paul, Oak Ridge National Laboratory (2021/2022)

John Linck, Collins Aerospace (2020)

Dr. Mauricio Terrones, The Pennsylvania State University (2018/2019)

Theresa Bandosz, City University of New York (2016 - 2017)

Cristian Contescu, Oak Ridge National Laboratory (2015)

Khalid Lafdi, University of Dayton (2014)

Amod A. Ogale, Clemson University (2013)

Julian Norley, GrafTech International Holdings, Inc. (2012)

Rodney Andrews, University of Kentucky CAER (2011)

Ray Baughman, University of Texas (2009-2010)

Dr. Frederick Baker, Oak Ridge National Laboratory (2008-2009)

Dr. Ljubisa R. Radovicr, Pennsylvania State University (2006-2007)

Dr. Peter Eklund, Pennsylvania State University (2005-2006)

Dr. Robert H. Hurt, Brown University (2004-2005)

Dr. Tim Burchell, Oak Ridge National Laboratory (2002-2003)

Dr. Neil Murdie, Honeywell (1999-2000)

Dr. Jim Zimmer, Aerotherm Corporation (1997-98)

Prof. L. E. Jones, New York State College of Ceramics (1996-97)

Dr. W. P. Hoffman, Air Force Research Laboratory (1995-96)

Prof. E. A. Heintz, State University of New York at Buffalo (1994-95)

Prof. D. D. Edie, Clemson University (1993)

Prof. H. Marsh, Southern Illinois University (1992)

Dr. W. P. Eatherly, Oak Ridge National Laboratory (1991)

Dr. G. G. Tibbetts, General Motors Corporation (1990)

Dr. R. Bacon, Amoco Performance Products (1989)

Mr. J. Jortner, Jortner Research and Engineering (1988)

Dr. D. W. McKee, General Electric Company (1987)

Dr. I. C. Lewis, UCAR Carbon Company (1986)

Dr. R. T. K. Baker, EXXON Corporation (1985)

Dr. J. L. White, The Aerospace Corporation (1984)

Dr. L. S. Singer, Union Carbide Corporation (1983)

Prof. M. S. Dresselhaus, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (1982)

Prof. D. B Fischbach, University of Washington (1981)

Prof. P. L. Walker, Jr., The Pennsylvania State University (1980)

Prof. S. Mrozowski, State University of New York at Buffalo (1979)

Prof. R. J. Diefendorf, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (1978)